For Shelley and Glor

I can’t even begin to imagine what goes through your mind some days. Eh, Let me restate that. I don’t want to imagine what  you must feel as you review the happiest, and inevitably, the saddest moments of your past.

I can say that through you and your experiences  I’ve learned that sometimes unconditional love from a parent isn’t the magical potion we all hope it to be. That years of dutiful diaper service, and meal prep, house cleaning, and booboo kissing, so that our children can be happy, healthy, and safe, sometimes just won’t be what they need to be happy. And that there may be a day that I have to come to terms with that.

From you and your family, I have learned to embrace every moment of naked sibling time, the nights that cereal for dinner is the perfect meal, and the camping trips that I am sure will feel more like a chore than a vacation at the time. Secretly, I will love when my kids talk about how much of a loser I am. I will remember to smile as my husband takes the millionth picture of the kids in their Halloween costumes. I’ll definitely not take for granted that glimmering moment when my child cross-dresses and acts like a total goofball. I won’t judge my children for being a little off-beat, instead I will love them for every little nuance that makes them unique and mine.

I would like to be the parents that you are. The ones that go to hell and back, the ones that have so many lively memories with their children, that stacks of photos documenting their childhood are only the tip of the iceburg. A parent whose child will never have to entertain the question of if I have done my best, and given enough of myself to be the best Momma I could for them.

I just wanted to say thank you for being those parents to your children, and setting such shining examples of how to do more than just get by, even on the days you don’t want to.

Leave a Reply

