Dinner with the tax man.

 

 

IMG_0739By that I mean, I owe my dad dinner. Yes, he is our tax man. I like to think that I will never have to think about the numbers in life.

IMG_0749

Life’s just too short to worry about taxes. I’d rather count calories, or run 10 miles. No joke. I might even change a poopy diaper over discussing finances.

IMG_0756

This year, he made me do a spreadsheet for my Invitation business, and I pretty much kicked and screamed the whole way through it. Luckily, he is pretty patient, or at least when it comes to numbers.

 

So the menu for tonight includes:

Shepherds Pasta, to which I will be adding Swiss Chard, and adapting because I only have half of the ricotta I’m supposed to for the recipe!

Roasted Broccoli

Baba Ganoush: I’ve adapted this Baba Ganoush recipe to make my own special blend of what I believe is the PERFECT appetizer, or in my case, dinner when you eat the entire bowl.

All measurements are rough, and if you like more/less of something then modify it to your liking

Baba Ganoush

2 lbs eggplant

1-2 TBS Lemon Juice

1-2 Cloves Garlic, roughly chopped

2 TBS tahini

a couple of shakes of Cumin

A little Cayenne pepper, if you like spice!

A good amount of Salt, but keep tasting and adding more before dumping a load in!

Pepper

Poke Eggplant with fork all over, roast in 450 degree oven, for at least 30-45 mins (depending on how large) until completely soft.

Remove the eggplants from the oven and let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes.  Set a colander in the sink.  Trim the top and bottom off of each eggplant.  Slit the eggplants in half lengthwise.  Use a spoon to scoop the pulp from the skins, and place the pulp in the colander (you should have about 2 cups).  Let the pulp drain for a few minutes.

Transfer the pulp to a food processor.  Combine with the lemon juice, garlic, tahini, cumin, cayenne, salt and pepper.  Process, leaving a little texture to the mixture.  Adjust the seasonings with salt and pepper to taste.  Transfer to a serving bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap pressed onto the surface of the dip, and refrigerate until lightly chilled.

Dip crackers, pita, veggies, or just eat it right out of the damn bowl if you love it enough!

For Dessert:

Berry Oatmeal Bars topped with an almond crumble.

Leave a Reply

