moving on up

Last week we entered the “big girl” phase, as a family. It wasn’t pretty folks, but it’s official, CK officially has transitioned to a “Big Girl Bed”. While Ant straddled the couch we attempted to move into the loft to make room for the bed, I ran for help from a neighbor.  Luckily Steve found as much humor in the situation as we did, and didn’t mind helping Ant destroy our walls and break a few light fixtures to make room for our new arrangement.

And, as we patiently waited for her to accept the new furniture in her room, we secretly hoped for a smooth transition and a new found love of sleep.

What we got, was a terrible ear infection and a cranky baby who wanted nothing to do with her plush mattress topped with only the most stylish of quilts.  We got crying and complaining, sleepless nights and battles over medicine. Totally the opposite of what we had envisioned  Not to fret, a few days on some antibiotics, which coincided with bribes to imbibe the meds, and all is back to normal.

photo (55)

 

Better than normal even, as today marks the third night of successful sleep  in her bed!  Disassembling the crib bedding was a little depressing, but life goes  on, and I was getting too large to bend over the bed rails. Who am  kidding, they had been in the way from the get-go, being five feet tall is awesome…

 

 

The up side of the holidays is food, and then again the down side, is food. Luckily I love all sides of food, so the holidays and I remain in good standing.

 

 

So far, I’ve attempted a few new recipes, one of which is so worth sharing! This Honey Almond Butter Tart was a hit at the dinner party my sister and I threw last week. I would forgo the homemade crust and opt for a graham cracker crust for ease and perhaps an even better result! And, if you don’t have almond butter on hand, I promise no one will complain if you use peanut butter.

photo (56)

Oh, and a few weeks back I promised ya’ll a recipe for same pasta fagioli, and while I’m a little hesitant to give away the recipe Ant has fallen in love with, I’ll share a similar one that we use on week nights in a pinch!

photo (54)

 

Pasta Faux-gioli:

2 Packages diced Pancetta, or 8 ounced diced

1/2 small onion diced

2 celery ribs, diced

1 or 2 cans cannellini beans, drained and rinsed (I like alot of beans!)

1 28oz. can crushed tomatoes, plus 3/4 tomato can full of water

1/2 lb elbow macaroni

In a pot, brown pancetta in a little olive oil. Remove pancetta from oil with a slotted spoon and reserve. Add onion and celery to pancetta drippings, sautee till softened about 10 minutes. Add beans, tomatoes, and water to the pot, return the pancetta to the mixture, and add a bay leaf. Simmer for at least 30 minutes but closer to an hour would be better.  Salt and pepper to taste. Cook elbows to al dente, strain and rinse in COLD water, then add to pot, let simmer for 5 minutes, and enjoy with a the mother-load of grated cheese on top!

 

On a design note, I’ve been oober busy, too busy to stop and think about the amount of work on my plate. However, I have to put my petal to the metal and get this done before the alien life form spawning in my stomach decides to rear its ugly (read : newborn cute) head. here is a rehearsal dinner invite I designed for a friend, that I’ve was able to also put up on my etsy shop! rehearsal dinner snow wood

I’ll, also be designing her daughters first birthday invite this week, so stay tuned for more winter themed designs

Coming soon, pics of our Christmas tree. Which may or may not have had a stroke, or at least appeared to, after our cats have had their part in destroying the Christmas spirit.

One thought on “moving on up

Leave a Reply

