The thing about summer…

I’m just saying, there are a few issues I have with summer, that’s all.

Summer and I have a love/hate relationship.

Because I love sunshine, but hate remembering to shave my armpits.

The sight of a million fireflies twinkling to make you believe that the world really is a beautiful place! And then, mosquitoes. Enough said.

I’m infatuated with summer beers, yet I often find myself too dehydrated to drink more than two.

It pleases me to NO end that fruit is all plump and ripe and in season, however my urge to bake with copious amounts of butter and sugar and fruit is insatiable. My want to wear less clothing vs my secret desire to tell teenage girls to cover up! The dream of stepping out at the party of the summer with a golden tan sporting perfect maxi, the reality of blistering sun burn, a dress that is 5 ft too long and my cellulite becoming far too visible…total buzz-kill.  The fact that I prefer to be outside over inside, but my hair frizzes like a banchi in the humidity.  (ok, MAYBE the picture is an exaggeration)

And the worst part of summer is that using the oven. It’s like, well, it’s like walking into an advanced yoga class, with only downward dog under your belt. You know you shouldn’t, but for convince yourself it’s a good idea, you leave over heated, perplexed and yet, somewhat satisfied, and then later regret.  An oven in 100 degree weather, it can do that to you. Trust me. That leaves us to the summer cooking appliance staple – the grill. You might find me grillin up some cookies this summer. Don’t put it past me.

But since summer isn’t officially here for another 20 days…

In the oven, at this moment, is a catalyst, of sorts. A cookie that will blow your mind. One that, can be molded and transformed, it will  grow to become whatever you make of it!

It is a FLOURLESS, BUTTERLESS, AWESOMENESS cookie. You. love. me.

You don’t believe me… well your loss my friend. Because I’ve just eaten three, and I fully intend on eating a few more when they get out of the oven. Crisp on the edges, chewy and gooey in the middle. Toss in whatever you like. Put the recipe to use, like your favorite yoga pants (until there is a hole in the crotch, and you wear them anyways).

Catalyst Cookies:

2 cups powdered sugar

2/3 C. cocoa unsweetened powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 TBS vanilla

1 egg

1 egg white.

1 C chocolate chips, (I prefer semisweet)

Now you could stop there, blend mix and bake @ 350 for 13 mins or until tops crackle, or you can take these morsels to the next level by adding in a little, ohh I don’t know: coconut flakes, almonds, raisins, dried cherries, MARSHMALLOWS! (why did I not think of marshmallows BEFORE I baked mine. Dammit.) peanut butter chips, pecans… you get it.

For the record, if a cookie doesn’t contain flour, it has no calories, right?

2 thoughts on “The thing about summer…

  1. Another great post. The yoga pants comment might be my favorite. Glad to see you cut some of the sugar and they are still awesome!

    • yeah, they are still a little sweet, but i guess when sugar and chocolate are the main ingredients that’s hard to avoid!

Leave a Reply

