I’ve met my match.

At least I am woman enough to admit it.

This thing, that is more powerful than I, is not living, nor wise, or even healthy. It is butter, cookie butter to be specific. And I can officially resign my will to ever overcome its ominous power. Smooth and creamy, it is the perfect accompaniment to, well, everything. Crackers? Sure. Pancakes? yum. Pretzels? sounds good to me.Chop liver? I’m not ruling it out. If cookie butter is involved, I would have to seriously reconsider my entire code of ethics!

I was so thrilled to have made the purchase, the scene that unfolded when I got home could be, to someone who doesn’t know me better, somewhat uncomfortable.

I pretty much dumped my child in her crib, tossed my purse on the couch and went digging until I uncovered my treasure. Then Nala joined the party to see what all the hype was about.  I ripped open a box of crackers and went for it. I came up for air after I realized there was a huge gully forming in the jar. It was then that I put away all of my once frozen groceries, and other goods.

 

I do have a confession to make. I’m not proud, not happy, and not sure where to begin! So here goes…. I recently got a food diary app for my phone, and i’ve been diligent in logging my food and exercise intake. This is all in an effort to somehow prove to myself what I’m already well aware of. I. eat. way. too. much. SUGAR. I’m addicted, and I need a rehab of sorts.

You chuckle, you smirk, you think you’re just like me? Try this on for size, I more than TRIPLED my daily allowance for the past ten days, without even trying. You know, just me, eating as usual. It’s that bad…

If  sugar was cigarettes, I’d smoke a pack a day. If sugar was beer, I’d be the local drunk. And if sugar were crack, I’d be Whitney Houston(…ouch), you get it.

What is my problem? I welcome suggestions!

 

3 thoughts on “I’ve met my match.

Leave a Reply

