How NOT to diet.

Just about every Monday I tell myself I’m going to eat healthier and do better than the previous week (in terms of self control, and sugar intake). And, by about  Tuesday, I forget that resolve and dig into whatever we have lying around that contains fat and sugar.

I just want to share with you one of my efforts.

I’ve been on a roasted veggie kick for a about a week or two now. I’m sort of obsessed. It’s what I do when I find a food I love.

Last month it was:

grapefruit, and I ate at least one a day! So Good.

And now it’s these guys:

Yep. Brussel Sprouts!

And some others.

Sounds totally great, right? Eating only veggies for lunch. And it was, until the day I decided to eat an ENTIRE pan of them. Every piece. Down to the last morsel. Did I mention I ate the whole thing. I enjoyed each bite slowly and, as I would later discover, painfully.

I have now uncovered the meaning behind the term “everything in moderation”. It isn’t only meant to keep you from indulging in sweets! Ohh no my friends.  There is just as much damage that can be caused from a pan full of veggies.

I’m not talking waistline damage here. It’s way beyond that. Deeper than that, if you catch my drift. Between trips to the bathroom, and the amount of gas that came out of my body it was clear that veggies can be just as harmful when consumed en mass. It was not pretty.

Don’t let this green and crispy golden treat fool you!

You have been WARNED!

To roast vegetable deliciously:

Cut to desired size. Place in a bowl. Drizzle (or douse, like me) in olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss. Spread evenly on a cookie sheet. Bake at 400 for about 20 minutes, or until golden on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

