Sadie’s Cookies

Nice weather, great. Sunhine, wonderful. Taking the dog and baby to the park to play, heavenly. Getting peed on, not so much… Not me even, it was CK who was caught downwind of a yellow lab who decided she looked more like a fire hydrant than a living being. No problem really, just comical, and since she was wearing a coat and it was just a little piddle, we stuck around (after I wiped her back down with some wipes). Doug (the lab) and his mortified owner decided to leave. Just another story in the books, we all had a good laugh at CK’s expense.

Don’t feel bad, I’m sure there will be many a laugh at my expense when she is older, and more capable of sadistic humor.

Anyways, there is finally a nice weekend on the horizon. Can’t wait to get out on the hillsides and hike for hours. Or just one hour, because that is all Ck can handle at this point.

In the meantime, I’ve been baking up these little gems for Sadie’s birthday.

She specifically told me not to, but I’m a really bad listener. Tough. She will have to eat them anyways! Think puffy muffin top drizzled with a glaze and flecked with sprinkles! Ok, so they were supposed to be sugar-free, but I just couldn’t force them to be something they weren’t.

Since she is a peanut butter LOVER, I decided to make them with it.  Maybe you’re not? Maybe you eat wheat, and like refined sugar and you hate the whole idea of Sadie’s Cookies. Don’t get your panties in a bunch. We can work it out. Just do some swapping! Think nutella, or jam, or fluff…. catch my drift? I have faith in your imagination.

The perfect Saturday morning post-breakfast treat. Or the perfect way to use up leftover bananas and ricotta cheese. Since I’m sure you always have them lying around…I know for me, they practically beg to be used before I toss them. Sometimes, I consider drawing sad faces on food that’s going bad so that I actually eat it. Then, I don’t and it gets dumped…but not today!

Sadie’s Cookies:

1 1/4 C. Oats pulverized into flour… or just use regular flour.

1/3 C. Peanut butter OR nutella OR Jam OR whatever you want!

1/2 C. Ricotta cheese

1 large ugly ripe banana

3 TBS honey or 1/4 c sugar

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbs Salted butter

Flax (however much you want!)

350 for 10-11 mins

wet. dry. mix.  scoop. bake. ice. eat. smile.

Icing

1/2 C. Powdered Sugar

1 tsp melted butter

1 tsp milk, or more to desired consistency

Leave a Reply

