Let’s not ring the alarm just yet

Last night I failed in an epic way.

It started off with a bang (or more like a pouf…) Dinner, or what I intended it to be, was spicy pork with a sweet and sour glaze, mashed potatoes, and roasted brussel sprouts with pancetta.

So there I am, happily attending to all three items at once, and the meal is coming together nicely. Then, Ant comes down from the loft in a huff, grabs CK and heads for the bedroom. As he is shouting all sorts of unmentionables, I can’t help but wonder what the hell is going on. Before I could take it all in, the smoke alarm is going off and I can barely see through the living room in our house. Apparently, I burnt the pork. My absent-minded self caused an obnoxious amount of smoke to embody our entire house. All without noticing. Anything. Luckily our kitchen exhaust system vents right back into the house…

About an hour later we all sat down to an overly well done dinner.

I must say that whoever decided to implant the idea in my head that brussel sprouts are terrible, is not someone I would like to maintain a relationship with. Those little green bundles are awesome. At least we thought so, in comparison to our charred pork.

Tonight, on the other hand, our evening meal went over a little better.

Seared Ahi Tuna, Sesame Ginger Quinoa and Sauteed Spinach

I tossed this in a pot of boiling water, and by the time it was done, so was the rest of dinner!

The best way to eat tuna? Almost completely raw! Simply defrost:

Season generously:

SEAR. This is important! I put my burner on 8 (out of 10) let it get really hot, then right before I put the Tuna in, add some canola oil.

ONE minute on each side. Place in the freezer immediately for about 10 minutes. Then slice and…. 🙂

Ohh and don’t forget the dipping sauce!

When we don’t have Very Very Teryaki on hand, I throw together my own sauce. There are no measurements, just lots of taste testing.

I use Soy, dried ginger, a dash of honey, and a little peanut butter. Tastes like awesome.

Leave a Reply

